Daffodil capital, c. 1915
South façade, Laurelton Hall, Long Island, New York, 1902–57 Cast and cut glass, concrete Tiffany Studios, New York City, 1902–32 22 x 20 in. (57-023)

Louis Comfort Tiffany (1848–1933) added the Daffodil Terrace at Laurelton Hall, his Long Island country estate, about 1915. The 18-by-32-foot outdoor room exemplified Tiffany’s unique and dramatic style. Each of the eight column capitals is decorated with twenty-four glass daffodil blossoms. To achieve the most life-like appearance possible, Tiffany had each flower created using individual petals and cups created from twelve different molds. The stems are glass mosaic.